image_pdfimage_print

Municipal Governance

Council Overview

The Council consists of 17 Councillors, of whom 9 are Ward Councillors and 8 Proportional Representative Councillors. The members of the Mayoral Committee also form part of the council.
The Hessequa Municipal Council makes decisions in terms of legislation, such as bylaws and policies, as well as in terms of executive functions such as operations, projects and issues of finance. The executive function within this municipality has been delegated to the Executive Mayor and the Mayoral Committee.

Executive Mayor

Grant Riddles is the Executive Mayor and political leader of Hessequa Municipality.

Office of the Speaker

The Speaker, Andrew Stroebel , is the convenor of Council meetings. This office also oversees the workings of Ward Committees.

Councillors

The Hessequa Municipal Council is the political sphere of service delivery and final decision-making entity.

Ward Councillors

Ward 1 – Benjamin Daniel Smith (DA)

Ward 2 – Ivan Trevor Mangaliso (ANC)

Ward 3 – Marthinus van den Berg (DA)

Ward 4 – Gerald Boezak (DA)

Ward 5 – James Eugene Gelderbloem (ANC)

Ward 6 – Nadia Ann Joseph (ANC)

Ward 7 – Msindo Elias Dayimani (ANC)

Ward 8 – Christopher Philip Taute (ANC)

Ward 9 – Simon Marthinus Odendaal (DA)

Proportional Representative Councillors

ANC
Lisby Pieterse
Maria Fielies

DA
Grant Riddles
Adriana Marie Joubert
Margaret Jakobs
Andrew Stroebel
Theresia van Rensburg

Vryheidsfront Plus
Johannes Hartnick

 

CONTACT DETAILS:

 

Councilors

Party

Ward Name Surname E-mail
DA 1 Ben Smith maycofin@hessequa.gov.za
ANC 2 Ivan Trevor Mangaliso imangaliso@hessequa.gov.za
DA 3 Tinus Van den Berg tinus@hessequa.gov.za
DA 4 Gerald Boezak gerald@hessequa.gov.za
ANC 5 James Gelderbloem james@hessequa.gov.za
ANC 6 Nadia Ann Prins-Joseph nadia@hessequa.gov.za
ANC 7 Msindo Elias Dayimani mdayimani@hessequa.gov.za
ANC 8 Christopher Philip Taute ctaute@hessequa.gov.za
DA 9 Simon Marthinus Odendaal maycotech@hessequa.gov.za
ANC PR Lisby Pieterse lisby@hessequa.gov.za
ANC PR Maria Fielies maria@hessequa.gov.za
DA Executive Mayor Grant Riddles mayor@hessequa.gov.za
DA PR Margaret Jakobs maycocomm@hessequa.gov.za
DA PR Annemarie Joubert AnnemarieJoubert@hessequa.gov.za
DA Speaker Andrew Stroebel speaker@hessequa.gov.za
DA PR Theresia Van Rensburg theresiavr@hessequa.gov.za
VF Deputy Mayor Johannes Hartnick deputymayor@hessequa.gov.za